# Constitution of St. Anne (Stanley) C of E Primary School Governing Body – July 2020

Total Number: 14 members (Quorum 7)

## Parent Governors (2)

#### Mr. Andrew Clements

- Member of Standards Committee with responsibility for Music
- Appointed on 17/5/2019
- Term of office from 17/5/2019 to 16/05/2023
- Declaration of business interests none
- Declaration of financial interests none
- No governance roles in other schools

### Mrs. Helen Hunt

- Member of Standards Committee with responsibility for Technology
- Appointed on 17/5/2019
- Term of office from 17/5/2019 to 16/5/2023
- Declaration of business interests none
- Declaration of financial interests none
- No governance roles in other schools

Parent Governors are parents who have a child in school at the time of their election, and are elected by the parents with children at the school. If there are insufficient nominations from parents to fill the vacancies, the Governing Body has to appoint parents.

# Staff Governors (2)

## Mrs. Julie Simons (Headteacher)

- Member of all Committees
- Appointed on 01/09/2014 until 31/08/2050
- Declaration of business interests: Employed as Headteacher in school
- Declaration of financial interests none
- No governance roles in other schools

## Mrs. Ruth Ellison (Staff Governor)

- Member of Standards Committee with responsibility for PHSE
- Appointed on 01/09/2014 until 31/08/2050
- Declaration of business interests: Employed as HLTA in school
- Declaration of financial interests none
- No governance roles in other schools

Staff Governors are members of staff at the school and are elected by their colleagues. This category includes the Headteacher (who serves in an ex-officio capacity) Teaching and non-Teaching staff. Unlike Parent Governors, when a member of staff leaves the school he/she must also leave the Governing Body.

## **Local Authority Governor (1)**

## Mr. Stephen Whittaker

- Member of Standards Committee with responsibility for Safeguarding and I.T.
- Appointed on 08/04/2015
- Term of office 21/05/2019 to 20/05/2023
- Declaration of business interests: Husband of member of staff Mrs. Roberta Whittaker (Teaching Assistant)
- Declaration of financial interests none

No governance roles in other schools

Local Authority Governors are nominated by the local Council and appointed by the Governing Body.

## Co-Opted Governor (1)

#### Miss Alex Prior

- Member of Standards Committee with responsibility for Humanities, Geography & History
- Appointed on 01/09/2015
- Term of office 1/09/2019 to 31/08/2023
- Declaration of business interests: Employed as a teacher in school
- Declaration of financial interests none
- No governance roles in other schools

Cop-Opted Governors are appointed onto the Governing Body by the other members because they come from a specialist group, such as the business community or because they possess a particular skill which can contribute to the effective governance and success of the school.

# Foundation Governors (8)

# Rev. Emma Williams (Chair of Governors)

- Member of Finance Committee, Pay Committee, Post-Ofsted Committee and Pupil Premium Progress Committee
- Appointed on 01/09/2018 31/08/2022
- Declaration of business interests none
- Declaration of financial interests none
- No governance roles in other schools

## Mr. John Winder (Vice-Chair of Governors)

- Member of Finance Committee, Pay Committee, Post-Ofsted Committee
- Appointed on 01/12/2012

- Term of office 01/09/2018 to 31/08/2022
- Husband of Mrs. Moira Winder Governor
- Declaration of business interests Husband of Mrs. Moira Winder Governor
- Declaration of financial interests none
- No governance roles in other schools

#### Mrs. Diane Corrin

- Member of Standards Committee with responsibility for Art
- Appointed on 15/04/2012
- Term of office 1/02/2017 to 30/01/2021
- Declaration of business interests none
- Declaration of financial interests none
- No governance roles in other schools

## Miss Leah Coyle

- Member of Finance Committee with responsibility for school website
- Appointed on 01/02/2017
- Term of office 01/02/2017 to 30/01/2021
- Declaration of business interests: Employed by Adlib Audio which can provide contracts to schools
- Declaration of financial interests none
- No governance roles in other schools

## Mrs. Jean Lynch

- Member of Standards Committee with responsibility for Science and Pupil Premium Progress
- Appointed on 01/09/2014
- Term of office 01/09/2018 to 31/08/2022
- Declaration of business interests: Sister of Ms. Pat Winrow Governor
- Declaration of financial interests none
- No governance roles in other schools

## Mrs. Sarah Stott

- Member of Finance Committee responsible for Building and Risk Assessments.
- Appointed on 01/09/2019
- Term of office 01/09/2019 to 31/08/2023
- Declaration of business interests none
- Declaration of financial interests none
- No governance roles in other schools

#### Ms. Patricia Winrow

- Member of Finance and Pay Review Committee
- Appointed on 01/09/1997
- Term of office 01/09/2018 to 31/08/2022
- Declaration of business interests Sister of Mrs. Jean Lynch Governor
- Declaration of financial interests none
- No governance roles in other schools

## Mrs. Moira Winder

- Member of Standards Committee with responsibility for SEN,
   English, Maths, Post-Ofsted Committee and Pupil Premium Progress
- Appointed on 24/07/2000
- Term of office 01/09/2018 to 31/08/2022
- Declaration of business interests Wife of Mr. John Winder Governor
- Declaration of financial interests none
- No governance roles in other schools

Foundation Governors in Church schools are those appointed by the Church authorities. Often in Anglican schools the incumbent of the parish will be a member of the governing body, by virtue of his/her office – this is called an ex officio governor. Other foundation governors are mostly active lay people. Some of the foundation governors must be parents of pupils at the school at the time they are nominated, and the

Instrument of Government should be clear on who is responsible for ensuring that the nominees are parents.

In Aided schools, there will always be a majority of foundation governors – they must outnumber all the other governors together by two. Foundation governors and the Headteacher will secure a formal structure for monitoring and evaluating the schools' effectiveness as a Church school to include all stakeholders.

On this Governing Body, Three Foundation Governors are nominated by the Liverpool Diocesan Board of Education and five Foundation Governors are appointed by the Parochial Council of St. Anne (Stanley)